DNS through centuryLink

All fixed bugs are moved here.
User avatar
GeoAg
Moderator
Posts: 7511
Joined: November 3rd, 2010, 1:09 am
Has thanked: 88 times
Been thanked: 476 times

DNS through centuryLink

Post by GeoAg » April 25th, 2012, 8:21 am

Anybody else having problems resolving usufans.com through centuryLink. I have the issue on multiple machines/devices on my home network. I haven't tried routing to another DNS server or setting something up statically for the name, but I wanted to see if anybody else had run into issues.


"You guys have sacrificed in ways you've never sacrificed before. You've given more. You expect more...Tonight is our opportunity to write the story of who this family, who this program, who this team will be" -Coach Blake Anderson

User avatar
ProvoAggie
Site Admin
Posts: 13292
Joined: June 14th, 2010, 1:00 am
Location: Provo, Utah
Has thanked: 860 times
Been thanked: 1137 times
Contact:

Re: DNS through centuryLink

Post by ProvoAggie » April 25th, 2012, 8:26 am




User avatar
aggieguy13
Posts: 1101
Joined: December 1st, 2010, 7:51 pm
Has thanked: 514 times
Been thanked: 280 times

Re: DNS through centuryLink

Post by aggieguy13 » April 25th, 2012, 10:57 am

I'm having the same issue at my apartment. The site comes up just fine on campus so I'm sure it's just CenturyLink.



User avatar
ProvoAggie
Site Admin
Posts: 13292
Joined: June 14th, 2010, 1:00 am
Location: Provo, Utah
Has thanked: 860 times
Been thanked: 1137 times
Contact:

Re: DNS through centuryLink

Post by ProvoAggie » April 25th, 2012, 11:34 am

Is it giving a specific error?



User avatar
aggieguy13
Posts: 1101
Joined: December 1st, 2010, 7:51 pm
Has thanked: 514 times
Been thanked: 280 times

Re: DNS through centuryLink

Post by aggieguy13 » April 25th, 2012, 11:53 am

I'm using Chrome and it just says that the website cannot be found.



User avatar
TrueBlue
Pick'em Champ - '13,'14,'15,'16 BB Predict The Score
Posts: 1790
Joined: January 24th, 2011, 11:40 am
Has thanked: 103 times
Been thanked: 32 times

Re: DNS through centuryLink

Post by TrueBlue » April 25th, 2012, 1:46 pm

I've had the website cannot be found a few times at work today, using Firefox, and I am most definitely not on CenturyLink.



User avatar
tetonaggie
Posts: 753
Joined: November 3rd, 2010, 8:46 pm
Has thanked: 18 times
Been thanked: 46 times

DNS through centuryLink

Post by tetonaggie » April 25th, 2012, 6:29 pm

You can route through openDNS.com, works great for me and they have a decent filter if you need one.


"I never Lose. I either Win or Learn." - Nelson Mandela

User avatar
GeoAg
Moderator
Posts: 7511
Joined: November 3rd, 2010, 1:09 am
Has thanked: 88 times
Been thanked: 476 times

Re: DNS through centuryLink

Post by GeoAg » April 25th, 2012, 8:54 pm

Working now. I'll keep openDNS in mind if I see it again.


"You guys have sacrificed in ways you've never sacrificed before. You've given more. You expect more...Tonight is our opportunity to write the story of who this family, who this program, who this team will be" -Coach Blake Anderson

Post Reply Previous topicNext topic